A word on fasting

Epiphanius, bishop of Cyprus, called the abbot Hilarion to see him. A portion of fowl was set before them and the bishop invited the abbot to eat. The old man said, “Forgive me, Father, but since the time I took this habit I have never eaten anything that has been killed.”

And Epiphanius said to him, “And from the time I took this habit I have let no man sleep who has anything against me, and neither have I slept holding anything against anyone.”

And the old man said to him, “Forgive me, Father, for your way of life is greater than mine” (The Sayings of the Fathers).

christicon

While I am not a baby christian, I AM a baby Orthodox Christian. None of the churches I went to really spoke too much about fasting because they took the, ‘don’t talk about your fast’ phrase a bit too literal. The Orthodox Fathers have quite a bit to say about fasting, among other important things, so let’s listen to their wisdom!

One of the denominations I explored oh-so-briefly during my spiritual travels was the Anglican church. It was here that I first heard about people fasting from meat because it was good for the environment and good Christians don’t eat meat (according to their bishop). What?!   God made all of creation for man to enjoy… even if that meant putting some of those created things into a stew pot to be eaten later.

For the holy fathers taught us to be killers of passions and not killers of the body. Partake of everything that is permissible with thanksgiving, to the glory of God and to avoid boastful arrogance; but refrain from every excess (The Monks Callistus and Ignatius, 14th c., Directions to Hesychasts).

As we approach the 40 day Nativity Fast, it’s a good idea to take a look at why we fast. Do we do it to boast of our devotion to creation? The created things, or do we do it with humility before God? Search your heart for your true reasons behind your actions. God knows everything. We can hide nothing from Him. Make sure your motivations are pure.

Leave a Reply

