Fr. Lazarus and the desert monks of Egypt-pray for them!

Father Anthony El Lazarus
Fr. Lazarus. A desert monk living in Egypt in the mountains above St. Anthony’s monastery.

when I began my journey that lead me to Orthodox Christianity, one of the things that influenced me was the life of, Fr. Lazarus. I watched his documentary several times. I was truely amazed at his transformation from atheist to devout monk. His sweet spirit shone through even past the camera lens. These monks go about doing their thing; praying, fasting, worshiping, etc., not knowing if what they do is impacting anyone’s life. Thousands of miles away, in America, here I am watching videos about them and thinking, ‘Whatever it is they have, it’s missing from the Christian walk and I want it!’. I did more, and more research until I found what I was looking for which lead me to my new parish home. Now, these monk’s lives, and more, are being threatened by, ISIS. Some monasteries have already been destroyed. The bodies of saints have been desecrated and the monastery walls bulldozed to the ground. Centuries of history wiped out in a single day by mad men.

Please join me in praying for the protection of these, and other holy sites.  Whether or not you realize it, our Christian heritage is being erased. YOUR Christian heritage is being erased. Tombs of saints we read about in the bible are now gone. Ancient places of worship no longer exist. People are dead and dying. Lord have mercy. Please pray!

Leave a Reply

